New Video Available Discussing Preliminary Flood Maps in Dare County

Dare County, in partnership with Current TV, has released a video of a recent Outer Banks Community Rating System (CRS) Users Group Meeting about the preliminary flood maps released by FEMA that are expected to be adopted in 2020. At the July 2019 meeting, local insurance and finance stakeholders were invited to discuss the preliminary flood maps and what the changes mean for local property owners.

The video provides property owners with critical information about changes in the preliminary flood maps and what they should know before making changes to their flood insurance policies when the new maps are adopted.

On the preliminary flood maps, a number of properties in Dare County are being reclassified into shaded x zone and x zones. Although flood insurance is not required in shaded x zones and x zone properties, some of these properties being reclassified have historically and repeatedly flooded. In addition, the newly revised flood maps may not accurately reflect soundside flooding hazards or extreme rainfall.

Outer Banks CRS Users Group Meeting – A Conversation with Insurance and Finance Stakeholders is available for streaming on Dare County’s YouTube Channel at The video will also broadcast on Current TV Government Channel 191 for local Spectrum TV customers. CurrentTV’s programming schedule, this video and additional Dare County programming, is available for viewing on-demand at  Additional information about Duck’s flood maps and hazard mitigation planning can be found on Town of Duck’s Community Development page.

Current TV is a collaboration between Dare County, local municipalities and educational entities. Current TV provides a diverse range of visually dynamic government and education programming. By highlighting community initiatives, government services, and local sciences, Current TV expands its viewers’ knowledge of the community’s infrastructure and services. All programming is accessible on Current TV’s streaming channels, on-demand video website, and Channels 191 and 198 for local Spectrum TV customers.