Duck residents pay real estate and personal property taxes to both the Town ($0.21 per $100 of assessed value) and Dare County ($0.43 per $100 of assessed value), with non-resident property owners paying real estate taxes only. Tax bills are sent out by the Dare County Tax Office at the beginning of the fiscal year and are due prior to January 1 of each year and include both the Town and the County tax levy.

The taxes support Dare County Schools and Dare County Government, as well as Town of Duck services which include fire protection; solid waste/recycling collection and disposal; planning, zoning & inspections; law enforcement; cultural and recreational; and surf rescue.

For fiscal year 2013-2014, the Town’s ad valorem tax rate is 21 cents per $100 of a property’s assessed value. To view the Town’s current budget, click here.

For a list of Tax Increase Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s) and answers, click here.

Dare County’s Tax Office is located at:

Dare County Justice Center
962 Marshall C Collins Drive
Manteo, NC 27954
Telephone: 252.475.5952
Fax: 252.475.5949

For the Dare County Tax Office page, click here and for additional information regarding Dare County’s Tax Rates, click here.